Runcorn Town Deal

What is the Town Deal Fund?

In 2019, the government announced a £3.6 billion funding package that will be divided amongst 100 towns England. In Halton, Runcorn was selected and Halton Borough Council can receive up to £25 million to improve the economic prospects of the town. The Town Deal investment plan needs to aim to long term economic growth with a focus on regeneration, improved transport infrastructure, better digital connectivity, skills and culture. If you would like to know more about the New Town Deal fund guidance, please follow the link below.

The Government guidance requires a local authority to set up a Town Deal Board

The Runcorn Town Deal Board comprises a range of key stakeholders from both the public and private sectors. The Board is independently chaired by a local businessperson, Adrian Fillingham. Halton Borough Council is represented on the Board, with the Council also providing administrative support. Some local ward councilors are on the Board, as well as Derek Twigg MP. The elected members are aware of local issues and the improvements requested by their residents.  The Board members are:

Adrian Fillingham

Adrian is a Senior Project Manager with J Brand Ltd based on the Astmoor Industrial Estate in Runcorn. Adrian is also Vice Chair of the Astmoor Business Improvement District Board. He is Chair of the Runcorn Town Deal Board

Board Member
David Parr

In June 2004 David became the Chief Executive of Halton Borough Council. David’s background is in planning, environmental and transportation law.  He has extensive experience in the areas of regeneration and urban renewal and has led numerous transformational regeneration projects creating new employment sites, regenerating town centres and generating major new job opportunities. David sits on the Board of Halton Chamber and is a Board Director on the Joint venture at Sci Tech Daresbury He has been involved with the delivery of the £2billion Mersey Gateway Bridge Project, the 3MG multi-modal logistics site at Widnes, the renaissance of the Runcorn Shopping Centre and Widnes Town Centre, The Brindley Arts Centre (Runcorn) and the Select Security Stadium in Widnes.

Board Member
Wesley Rourke

Wesley is an Operational Director for Economy, Enterprise and Property at Halton Borough Council.

At Halton, he is responsible for:

  • Bringing forward and implementing the borough’s major physical development sites; managing the Council’s property and strategic assets;
  • Coordinating and acting upon the borough’s inward investment and business enquiries;
  • Encouraging and supporting businesses to expand;
  • Developing and delivering initiatives, which create, secure and safeguard jobs in the Borough and the provision of a wide range of adult and family learning courses across the borough.

Board Member
Derek Twigg MP

Derek has lived all of his life in Halton.  Derek has served as the Member of Parliament for Halton since 1997 and his priority is the people of Halton

Board Member
Sophie Bevan

Sophie is an Investment Manager at Liverpool City Region Combined Authority as well as a member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors. Sophie also sits on the St Helens and Southport Town Deals boards.

Board Member
Cllr Mike Wharton

Mike is the Deputy Leader of Halton Borough Council with responsibility for Resources. He has over 30 years’ experience of working in Finance in the private sector and has been a local ward Councillor for the last 18 years.

Board Member
Cllr Ronnie Hignett

Ronnie has been a local ward Councillor for 32years and was the Mayor in 2003 - 2004. Ronnie sits on the Councils Executive Board and is the portfolio holder for Physical Regeneration.

Board Member
Cllr Pauline Sinnott

Pauline is a local ward Councillor representing the Mersey Ward and a Deputy Portfolio Holder for Employment and Skills at the Liverpool City Region.  She is an active member of the Runcorn Town Team and a champion for local businesses, community enterprises and organisations to take an active part in decision making.

Board Member
Rachael Owen

Having worked as a business adviser across a breadth of sectors, public and private, throughout the North West and Liverpool City Region, Rachael now focuses on the specific needs of Halton based organisations and champions a business centric approach as the Chief Executive of Halton Chamber of Commerce.  Halton Chamber is a business led, not for profit, membership organisation, representing Runcorn and Widnes based enterprises.  The Chamber supports local inter-trading and provides practical help and advice at all stages of business development including start up, consolidation and growth, as well as international expansion.  Rachael is a qualified, post 16 lecturer with a PGCE, CIM Post Graduate Diploma in Marketing and MBA.

Board Member
Hayley Dooley

Hayley is the DWP Partnership Manager working on behalf of the local Jobcentres in Runcorn and Widnes, supporting partners to deliver a wide range of services, training and support to unemployed people and their families across Halton.

Board Member
Mary Murphy

Mary is the Principal of Riverside College and Cronton Sixth Form College, having worked previously in two highly successful colleges in the North West. Mary has a wealth of industrial and educational experience and alongside her team of teaching, support and training staff she invests in young people and adults to ensure that they all have opportunities to fulfil their potential.

Board Member
Lucy Gardner

Lucy is the Director of Strategy at Warrington and Halton Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (WHH).  Lucy started her career 17 years ago as an NHS General Management Trainee, gaining a Master’s degree in health and social care leadership and management. In the 17 years she has held a number of operational management roles within the NHS and subsequently, in her role at EY and most recently as Director of Strategy at WHH, led large scale change programmes to deliver significant financial, quality and performance benefits predominantly within healthcare. Highlights include; leading the introduction of the support time recovery worker role into mental health services; leading a £3.6m project to install the first intra-operative scanner in a pediatric setting in the UK and Europe; leading the transfer of pediatric services from an acute to a community setting; directing a project for disadvantaged pregnant teenagers in Peru; and leading the support to the merger of two large acute Trusts.  Lucy is passionate about improving the lives of the populations she serves from a health and wider regeneration perspective.

Board Member
Paul Mullane

Paul is Director of Development and Growth for Halton Housing and currently is looking after the development of new homes, delivering their ambitious plan to build and acquire 1,000 new homes covering a whole market housing offer.

Board Member
Claire Bradby

Claire is Chief Executive of Power in Partnership, a community education provider. Claire is passionate about communities and young people and has been involved in the third sector In Halton for over 25 years.

Board Member
Graham Wallace

Graham is a retired Royal Navy veteran and local business man. Graham is the Chairman of Runcorn Locks Restoration Society. Graham sits on the Runcorn Town Team panel

Board Member
Alex Haycraft

Alex is the managing director of Blueball Brewery Ltd and Society Tap Room based in Runcorn. Alex is also a member of the Runcorn Town Team.

Town Deal Board meeting agendas and minutes


If you have suggestions for the Town investment plan please post them on

If you have general questions, please contact: